We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Soft Approach

by The Stress of Leisure

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $7 AUD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    6 panel digipack with artwork by the band.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Soft Approach via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days

      $15 AUD or more 


Shy 03:43


"It's business as usual for The Stress of Leisure: wonderfully crafted, esoteric rock tunes, all grounded in the (relatively) fresh mythological territory of Brisbane, Australia and all delivered with Ian Powne's distinctive, anxious voice - somewhere between Roberts Smith and Forster. Throughout the album Powne filters his observations into acutely realised vignettes that often reveal a devastating core of bleak existential angst. Ultimately however this is an uplifting album. Fans of the Flying Nun label, Guided By Voices and Brisbane's own Dollar Bar will find much to love here. Soft Approach is a truly amazing album from a woefully under-appreciated band." - Ben Salter (Time Off)


released August 20, 2010

Ian Powne - vocals/guitar
Pascalle Burton - keys/backing vocals
Jessica Seitz - drums/percussion
Ben Moore - bass
Almaryse Burton - backing vocals
Neil Coombe - guitars bits/kaossilator cameo
Tony Strong - phantom drum snare

All songs by Ian Powne.

Recorded and mixed by Neil Coombe at The White Room Recording Studio, Mt. Nebo (Qld).

Mastered by Don Bartley.


all rights reserved



The Stress of Leisure Brisbane, Australia

The Stress of Leisure is Ian Powne, Pascalle Burton, Jessica Moore and Jane Elliott.

contact / help

Contact The Stress of Leisure

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like The Stress of Leisure, you may also like: